Science Faculty

Our teaching is based in Science laboratories and so is designed to offer plenty of practical experiences to support a range of different learning styles. Every lesson will offer opportunities for differentiated work and an element of literacy, numeracy or SMSC teaching. Close attention is given to making sure that pupils are fully prepared for the regular assessments at both key stages which are targeted at students FFT predictions.

Our AIMS are designed to:

  • Make students question the world, the universe and everything between
  • Increase students confidence in all aspects of Science
  • Raise engagement and enthusiasm through challenging misconceptions and ideas
  • Ensure all students achieve their potential
  • Offer the right public examination in order for students to achieve the best possible examination result
  • Provide a safe, disciplined and well managed working environment which mirrors the schools standards
  • Take the position of role model and set high standards for ourselves

Science Level 2 Courses

Year 10

3 Groups following the triple Science course which includes:

  • Edexcel GCSE in Biology
  • Edexcel GCSE in Chemistry
  • Edexcel GCSE in Physics 3 Groups following Core Science course
  • Edexcel Core Science 4 Groups following the NQF BTEC in Applied Science
  • Edexcel BTEC in Applications of Science
  • Edexcel BTEC in Principles of Science

Year 11

3 Groups following the triple Science course which includes

  • Edexcel GCSE in Biology
  • Edexcel GCSE in Chemistry
  • Edexcel GCSE in Physics

2 Groups sitting Core and Additional GCSE terminal papers

  • Edexcel Core Science
  • Edexcel Additional Science

5 Groups following the QCF BTEC in Applied Science

  • Edexcel BTEC in Applied Science (Extended Certificate)

Science Staff

Mr S Finan

Faculty Leader
finan.s@welearn365.com

Miss C Pitts

Assistant Faculty Leader
pitts.c@welearn365.com

Mr L Blackburn

Teacher of Science
blackburn.l1@welearn365.com

Mr A Mushing

Science ITT Tutor
mushing.a@welearn365.com

Mr I Goldthorp

Teacher of Science
goldthorp.i@welearn365.com

Mr G Massey

Biologist
massey.g@welearn365.com

Mr A Thomas

Physicist
thomas.a@welearn365.com

Miss R Spencer

Chemist
spencer.r@welearn365.com

Ms K Cockerill

Head Technician
cockerill.k@welearn365.com

Ms M Macdonald

Science Technician
macdonald.m@welearn365.com