English Faculty

The English Faculty at Avon Valley recognises that every student’s success, both within and outside school, rests upon the student’s ability to read, communicate and interpret the world around them. With this in mind, we seek to offer all of our students invaluable, varied and exciting learning opportunities at both Key Stage 3 and 4.

The English Faculty is well staffed by enthusiastic teachers who constantly strive to implement inventive ideas to invigorate learning. The KS3 units of learning have now been rewritten to reflect the rigorous new English specifications. This will prepare them for the skills they need for KS4 and after they leave school.

In KS4, students begin to build upon the new GCSE specifications; preparation for this challenging course begins in Year 9. The first external examination of the new specification will take place in June 2017.

GCSE English Literature - recommended revision guides

InspectorCalls  An Inspector Calls: York Notes for GCSE (9-1), by John Scicluna and Mary Green   
Waroftheworlds Study and Revise for GCSE: The War of the Worlds, by Peter Morrison  
Merchant  The Merchant of Venice: York Notes for GCSE, by Martin J. Walker  

English Staff

Mrs R Davies

Faculty Leader
davies.r2@welearn365.com

Mrs J Holmes

Assistant Faculty Leader
holmes.j1@welearn365.com

Mrs S Fagan

Assistant Faculty Leader
fagan.s@welearn365.com

Miss C Davies

Teacher of English
davies.c@welearn365.com

Mr P Gillett

Teacher of English
gillett.p@welearn365.com

Ms S Hill

Teacher of English
hill.s6@welearn365.com

Mrs A Heath

Teacher of English
heath.a@welearn365.com

Ms A Tinham

Teacher of English
tinham.a@welearn365.com

Mr A Duke

Teacher of English
duke.a@welearn365.com

Miss K Mungo

Teacher of English
mungo.k@welearn365.com

Mrs C Walsh

English Technician
walsh.c1@welearn365.com