Apollo

Miss Labreize
Achievement Leader
labreize.c@welearn365.com
Miss Hicks
Student Welfare Leader
hicks.l@welearn365.com

Fortune

Mr Phelan
Achievement Leader
phelan.d@welearn365.com
Miss Ranger
Student Welfare Leader
ranger.j@welearn365.com

Houses

In September 2014, The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College changed its Pastoral System to a House Structure.

The decision to move to a House Structure was based on the many advantages that this non age specific grouping can bring, some of which are listed below. These advantages can be considered to fall into the three broad categories of collaboration, competition and leadership.

  • Building of an individual’s strengths within a group, and bonds with other students of all ages
  • Student Focus; each student treated as an individual – not just one more student in a large year group.
  • A caring, supportive environment where each student becomes a valued member of a small ‘family unit’ within the larger ‘family’ of Avon Valley.
  • Respect, consideration and courtesy across mixed age groups.
  • Positive self esteem amongst students and valuing the ethos of the school.
  • Peer support to ensure students feel safe within school.
  • Promotion of the ‘Student Voice’, student responsibility, team skills, leadership skills and co-operation.
  • Extra-Curricular activities which enrich and broaden student experience and provide elements of competition.
  • Development of personal and social skills and well being.

The school has four Houses, and, as we are a Performing Arts College, the students voted to name the houses after famous London theatres. Each house is led by an Achievement Leader and a Student Welfare Leader, and, in addition, is overseen by one of the school’s Assistant Headteachers.

Each House consists of around 275 students and is made up of two tutor groups from each of years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11. On transition from primary school new students are placed in the same House as their older siblings.

All of the staff at The Avon Valley School are allocated to a house and students and staff are highly competitive about the house points that they accumulate!

Garrick

Mr Owen
Achievement Leader
owen.m3@welearn365.com
Mr Herring
Student Welfare Leader
herring.p1@welearn365.com

Phoenix

Mrs Owen
Achievement Leader
owen.l5@welearn365.com
Mr Cunningham
Student Welfare Leader
cunningham.n1@welearn365.com